The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances Book Review

The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances

The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances

 

The addictive Number One bestselling thriller, perfect for fans of Into the Water.

A girl. A boy. His mother. And the lie she’ll wish she’d never told.

The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances is a gripping and chilling debut psychological thriller, based on the fall-out following an unforgivable lie. It looks at the potentially charged relationship between girlfriend, boyfriend and his mother, which most women can identify with, and locates it in an extreme but believable setting.

Laura has it all. A successful career, a long marriage to a rich husband, and a twenty-three-year-old son, Daniel, who is kind, handsome, and talented. Then Daniel meets Cherry. Cherry is young, beautiful and smart but she hasn’t had the same opportunities as Daniel. And she wants Laura’s life.

Cherry comes to the family wide-eyed and wants to be welcomed with open arms, but Laura suspects she’s not all that she seems.

When tragedy strikes, an unforgivable lie is told. It is an act of desperation, but the fall-out will change their lives forever.

 

The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances

 

What happens when a mother and the ultimate gold digger meet up? War.

 

The story is centered on the mother Laura, and the girlfriend Cherry. Laura like any mother is protective of her son. They have a close relationship but when Daniel starts to spend less time in the house. Laura suspects there is a girl in the picture. This is when Cherry comes in. Laura wants to know Cherry but something about her rubs her the wrong way.

 

Cherry is one of the most unlikeable characters I’ve met in a while. She’s estate agent this is where she meets Daniel. He comes from a wealthy family. His father an accountant with a mistress (nice), his mother a producer at BBC. He also has a trust fund and the dollar sign flashes on Cherry eyes. She wants a way out. She doesn’t want to work but rather milk it from someone else. She is ashamed of her mother who is the most likable character in the book. She at least worked hard to become a manager at Tescos, unlike her lazy, ungrateful, daughter.

 

Spoiler: Cherry kills a puppy that enough reason to get her in my bad books. You want money honey, you work for it not getting a rich a husband and kill puppies to get it.

 

Laura although I did sympathize with her worry she wants Cherry out of the picture and even lies if needs to be. That’s when things turn sour between the mother and the girlfriend.

 

I enjoyed the story but the scheming, the lies and Cherry’s antics left me exhausted. You’ll be reading a lot of rich people and their problems. The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances is listed as a thriller but I found it to be more a contemporary fiction sort of book.

 

Silent Victim by Caroline Mitchell

Bring me Back By B.A Paris Book Review

 

Get it here 

Lets connect!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.